Tagaytay City hosts ASEAN meet

By Ana Pamela C. Guadaña
Photo courtesy of ASEAN2017.ph 

TAGAYTAY CITY, PHILIPPINES — Hosted by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) held its 23rd Senior Officials Meeting for ASCC (SOCA) and 18th ASCC Council Meeting on September 11-14, 2017 at Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City.

“Partnering for Change, Engaging the World” was the theme of the event, in accordance to President Duterte’s presidential campaign, “Change is coming”, and to promote unity among the ASEAN country members and its global partners.

The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) led the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community by discussing the progress of humanitarian rights, namely ASEAN Consensus on the Protection and Promotion of the Rights of Migrant Workers; ASEAN Leaders’ Declaration on Gender Responsive Implementation of the ASEAN Community Vision 2025 and Sustainable Development Goals; ASEAN Declaration on Ending All Forms of Malnutrition; ASEAN Leaders’ Declaration of Commitment on Anti-Microbial Resistance (AMR); Combatting AMR through the One Health Approach; and the ASEAN Declaration on the Adoption of the ASEAN Youth Development Index

The DSWD chair highlighted the pillars of the ASEAN, which is to be people-oriented and socially responsible to achieve unity within and among the people of the ASEAN member states.

Simultaneously in Metro Manila, ASEAN also held a symposium entitled Countering Fake News which was led by Sec. Martin Andanar of the Presidential Communications Office of the Philippines. The talk tackled the practical measures citizen can take against fake news through administered steps to be made by the government.

An estimated 3,000 security personnel were deployed to ensure the safety of the ASEAN meeting delegates, such as ministers, top officials, secretary general, heads of economies, international media, business leaders, and other guests of honor. “Task Group Site Tagaytay,” as the deployment was called, was situated on the rides going to and running through Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay.

ASEAN is made up of 10 uniting countries namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and the Philippines.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s